Success Story: 40 year old mom get's Software Apprenticeship

Hello!!

I’m excited to share the news that just 2 days away from my 40th birthday I’ll start my Software Apprenticeship, which has a pathway to a job offer upon successful completion of said apprenticeship.

Background

I have a bachelor degree in International Business and most of my life I have worked in logistics until I became project manager for a food company. During my project management tenure my partner and I decided to have a baby. Eight months after having my little one, I was let go of my company due to a “restructure”.

I searched for a new job, but the market for business majors is extremely competitive and the salary barely covered my nanny’s salary, so I decided to be a full time mom for my baby until she could go to preschool.

Switching Careers Decision

I have always been a curious person and I have taken all sort of courses, from game dev, ancient greek history, graphic design to programming, and I always saw them as one of those things you love to do, but probably won’t be paid to do, but these hobbies saved me in the past from spiraling into depression when I moved from my home country to the US, so I turned to them during those few hours that I had a break from motherhood.

As I continued to learn about programming as a hobby, I read out of curiosity a couple of success stories here in FCC, and these anecdotes along with learning about growth mindset gave the perspective that I needed to give edge to my profession, but not my business profession, but my PROBLEM SOLVER profession, since challenge is what I relished from my business career, hobbies and life.

With my new problem or project, I started setting the scope of my work, as a mother I had limited time and resources, so bootcamps or expensive degrees were out of the table, so I prepare mentally for what I anticipated was going to be a long journey, which went more or less like this:

2017 - 2018