Suggestion Regarding Project

Hii,
I am searching for a mentor who can guide me to build my first Project of my Career.
I am a noob to the Software Development having basic knowledge of C++, Java, HTML, CSS and MySql. But I want to practice it and land on a good paying job ( to be clear i.e my motive :D).

Currently I want to utilize these unfortunate pandemic Lockdown Days to build a project which I think would give a kick-start to my learning.
I want your suggestions regarding which technologies should I use and why to build the project. I am up to learn technologies as required.

This project is related to my college faculties who have to fill lots of paper-formalities each year regarding new achievements in their career viz. papers published, any course done etc.
So I want to put it down in a software form to minimize the tiresome work done each year to just simple updations in their profile after verification by the admin.

I am listing down the expected requirements of the application :-

1. Admin : The one who controls all the departments and is head of them.
    Can access all the details of faculties and departments.
    Can sort the faculty/department view details as desired.

2. Departments : Several departments in the college as Computer Science, Civil, Mechanical etc.
    i) Staff :- Each faculty has a unique id-password assigned through which they log-in to the system.
    Initially they fill their details and get them recorded in the system i.e personal details, professional details.
    After that whenever an updation is to be made in their profile they make a request to their respective Department Controller to update their details regarding papers published, any course done etc thus upload marksheet, papers to the application to the same.

ii) Department Controller :- An individual who is assigned using unique id-password and can log-in through it only.
He is the one who can view the requests of updations from his respective department faculties.