Terms aren't consistent..?

I’m on “Applied visual design” One thing i’v noticed is that the terms your using aren’t consistent… Sometimes when you refer to tag its <h1> , but other times it’s h1 { }. Im new to all this so im trying to learn the difference between tags, elements, properties, etc, etc, but it seems like every problem, is referring to these things differently… WHY? And can someone explain this better. Cuz I’v been paying attention to it all day, and it’s getting annoying. I ordered a book that should be coming soon, and hopefully as I go through it, some of this stuff makes more sense, but… why the inconsistencys?

this is a css selector that is targeting the h1 element

<h1> is an opening tag, </h1> is a closing tag
the two plus their content is the element
so often the term tag and the term element could be used interchangeably

properties and attributes are the things you add to the elements inline or via the css selector

4 Likes

Thank You. I will try and recognize these in the future. :slight_smile:

for the css selector, it is a mouthful, so you will never find someone say “let’s add this property to the css selector targeting the h1…”
they say they are adding the property to the element, even if it is confusing for who doesn’t know the underlining of the css selectors being used

1 Like

Theyre teaching the first part of the lesson using html. So you are seeing them refer to h1 as <h1></h1>.
Later, they are going to teach some cool CSS tricks, when doing so they will obvi be using CSS so you will see them refer to h1 as h1 { }. Good eye though. That is a very important distinction you have recognized. I just finished Applied Accessibility, I also am brand new to this. Good eye though, really. That question was very important to have answered. Critical to our understanding. Keep up the good work!

1 Like