The exercises are hard

I have been learning javascript for about three months now and some exercises seem really hard to me. Sometimes I just cannot do any of them without copy pasting and I can’t understand how some of them might be useful for web development.

Learning to program is hard! Copy-pasting answers is just going to make it harder. When you get stuck, I recommend asking questions here on the forum and we’ll help you get un-stuck!

2 Likes

But how can I use that code in web development, that’s what I am curious about.

Its hard to see until you have enough building blocks. Roughly speaking, HTML/CSS is about how a website looks while Javascript is all about what a website does. Any interactive component of a website is powered by Javascript. (roughly speaking)

3 Likes

I feel the same way as you sometimes. There’s no problem looking at the answers, as long as you get back to the challenge and try to understand it’s not a problem.

It is far, far better to talk to people here on the forum than look up the answers and copy them. Starting to rely upon copying the answers will not help you learn how to solve problems on your own.

I think it’s important to really nail down the fundamentals. If you see that you’re having a lot of trouble with a particular lesson, go back to the lesson that you felt most comfortable and re-do the content following it. There is no shame in repeating content if it means you understand it better.

On that note, keep with it. If it was easy everyone would do it, but the facts are, coding/programming can be a hard concept to grasp, but I know you have what it takes to master it.

3 Likes

I think I understand your ‘confusion’, with the way some challenges are presented. While this is probably not wholly accurate, I think we can generally break most challenges down into two main types of approach: fun/relatable, and abstract.