Thoughts on recent interview and the blurry line between frontend and design

Hi all,

I just came home from a frontend developer interview. The advert really talked to me as they were looking for someone with not a whole lot of experience to learn and grow in their company, and they only asked for Javascript, HTML and CSS so I sent a well written e-mail with a link to my portfolio and the next day I got asked to do the interview.

The first interview was with someone who was in charge of basically choosing good “profiles”. I was asked the typical questions, what are your strong points, weak points, etc.After some questions about me, he proceed to explain what I would be doing. Everything sounds doable, but he keeps mentioning design design design. At this point I had to stop him and asked to clarify what level of design were we talking and he seemed surprised, like it was obvious that as a Frontend developer I should know how to use Photoshop and all the Adobe programs to a professional level which I find a bit shocking. I said that well, I could and used Photoshop for example to retouch, change sizes and adapt images for web and he said that that’s something anyone, including himself could do.

After apparently having passed the first part of the interview he asked me if I was willing to wait and do the second part this same morning. O course I waited. When left alone I went to my CodePen because I thought NOW they would be checking my portfolio, and they were as my views went up, but of course only the first 2 or 3 HTML/CSS projects get checked (this is probably my fault as I should present the best ones first, but I like to have the sections divided), my poor Javascript Calculator has 0 views while my first HTML/CSS item has over 90. ( https://sergioca87.github.io/ )