Time Management Advice in coding while in College and having a Part time Job

Hi, I am a college freshman in the Philippines currently taking the course of Computer Science. I am practicing my skills in programming but the only problem is that I have hard time in managing my time to self-study while studying college and at the same time, having a part time job(not related to programming)

I love programming that is why I want to learn as much as possible. I really need advice on how I can be good in programming while studying in college and doing a part time job. Any tip will do

1 Like

I suggest Time Blocking, as in assigning specific jobs to your time - you could check Cal Newport for that, but he is not the only one around

1 Like

Welcome @jfp21!

Time management is one of those things that gets complicated for everyone as they gain more responsibilities.

The real key is making and sticking to a schedule - you only have a finite amount of time in your day, and ultimately have control over how you spend it.

And remember, you don’t need to spend every waking moment coding, or even need to code every day. Build a reasonable, consistent, and manageable habit and the results will come.

1 Like

Hi @jfp21 welcome to freeCodeCamp!

There is only so much time in the day, beyond the obvious advice like “don’t get distracted too much” you really have to use the time you have as efficiently as possible.

You should set priorities for the time you have. Like you don’t want to spend a bunch of time learning about a bunch of cool technologies, when you could be studying for a test for school. Your paying for school either directly or indirectly, so that should be one of the top priorities time-wise as you want to get your money’s worth by making the most of college.