Todo List - Project Feedback Please!

Hey guys,

This isn’t a FCC project but I would highly appreciate if you give me ANY feedback on this project.

https://put-em-down.netlify.com/

Here is a link to my code in case anyone wants to look at it. https://github.com/shimphillip/put-em-down

Thank you!

Complete and absolute noob here, so I can’t give constructive comment on technicalities and code (sorry), but I think it looks super nice!

What technologies did you use to build it.

@topcoder

"react": "^16.8.3",
"styled-components": "^4.1.3"

@shimphillip

const { state, toggleCompleted, removeTodo, handleVisibility, handlePriorityVisibility, addTodo } = this;
const props = { state, toggleCompleted, removeTodo, handleVisibility, handlePriorityVisibility, addTodo };    
<Dashboard {...props} />

You are spreading all properties into variables, then you make an object of them and call it props.

You could write <Dashboard {...this} /> and delete the two other lines.
This would save around 10 formatted lines & improve the readability “Oh, he passes all class properties to Dashboard” vs. “WTF is he doing?”.
No need for thinking about performance.

Looking good.

@miku86
Hey thanks! I knew about this and was debating.

Like you said, I could simply do {…this} and pass down props like that but I noticed that it also passes down other built-in methods of this besides the ones that I coded up.

So does performance barely get any hit if any even if I pass down props that child components won’t use?

@topcoder

:arrow_up: comment and for fading effects I used react-reveal library.

@pipestream Hey thanks for the compliment!

Don’t do this. You should pass only stuff you use not because of performance concerns (I doubt there are any), but because when you use it in combination with stuff like prop-types or TypeScript types/interfaces you’ll get nice warnings when you forget to pass a prop or pass a wrong one.