Toxic senior at work

I’m a new Django/Python developer working full-time for 1 month now.
I’m working in a team of 2 as it’s a startup, and I have a great senior, but when he assigns me to work he tells me to complete that within a fixed amount of time he allows me with.
I generally feel that the amount of time he assigns me is less than my required time cause I usually finish that work taking an over of 1-2 hours and then he checks my work and tells me that I’m slow and don’t deliver quality code even though I do 90% of the task right with some minute mistakes, then he tells me to correct and complete it and assigns me more work to do with a time span allowance of 2-3 more hours which is again, less if I be truthful. And this makes me feel really bad and hence imposter syndrome.
Is this me overthinking? Or is he really doing wrong? Any help and support will be appreciated.

I guess you are a junior developer. It is normal ,you can not achieve the tasks assigned in the time scheduled for the senior developer(Most of the them have already forgotten when they were juniors). He has much more experience, more knowledge about the language, APIs, etc.
If the task is done and he says it is not quality code it should be I guess by three factors; it is not optimized for performance, scalability or legibility. You will learn that with experience.
A senior should push but also teach. So dont feel bad it is a normal feeling for most junior developers :slight_smile:
Regards

1 Like

Sounds difficult. I’m sorry you’re in an unpleasant situation.

I think when we’re starting out, it’s natural to feel vulnerable and wonder how you’re doing. Hey, I’m a professional guitarist and I certainly remember my first gigs working with people who’d been doing it a while. And even now, every gig you’re not 100% sure if you’re going to kill it or mess up in front of the audience :slight_smile: