Tribute Page Feedback Linus Torvalds

Hey everyone,

I am new to the forum and new to coding. I have been coding for about 2 months now. I only have prior experience working in Linux doing just a bit of scripting and messing with files. I can’t get enough of coding or free code camp! If you have the time please let me know what you think about my first project. Any tips or advice is all highly appreciated and will help me grow to do better in future projects. Had a bit of trouble with the white space surrounding the page, anyways thanks for the help!

2 Likes

Wow! A really cool design! However, some padding on the terminal would be appreciated.

Can do, thanks for the feedback I am pretty hyped you like it! :metal: I plan on tweaking it a bit more after work today.

2 Likes

Very nice design! I love the use of the terminal look, it’s absolutely spot on.

An increased line height would make the text more readable and it has issues in mobile view:

Your ‘terminal’ could take up a much larger % of the page when in mobile. You could set up individual media queries for different screen sizes, but I find a good starting point for this sort of page with one central column is maybe to set the width of the element as a screen % (maybe like 85/90%) which means it will take up most of the page in mobile, but then set a max-width in terms of pixels so once it hits we’ll say 600px, or whatever you want it to hit, on desktop it will stop growing.

I’m quickly finding that the best way is to design the mobile view first and you can also use the responsive design mode in chrome/Firefox to see what your page looks like on different devices :slightly_smiling_face: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Responsive_Design_Mode

Again, great job!!

1 Like

As a fellow beginner I it is just a great creative design idea.
just some minor comments I have for you:

1. I would omit “id” attribute if I am going to use element selector on the CSS. (main, h1, img).