Tribute Page: Satoru Iwata (Late president of Nintendo) - Feedback please!

Hi there!

I’m hoping for a little feedback on my tribute page project. It took the better part of an afternoon to put it together and is somewhat minimalistic. I wanted to avoid gaudy colors and let the font and layout be the central aspects of the design.

Please let me know what you think, what I can improve, etc. This is my first project on FCC and I had SO much fun creating this.

Thank you!

https://codepen.io/langdonjp/full/ZJwyXj

It looks very good.

I only have two thoughts.

First, I might consider shrinking the width (and centering) so you don’t have such long lines to read. This is especially true in the timeline. I actually like to do that for the whole page with something like this so I might go:

body {
  width: 80%;
  margin: 0 auto;
}

Just to keep it away from the edges. Then I might to the same on text-container class.

.text-container {
  padding: 30px;
  width: 80%;
  margin: 0 auto;
}

and I might bump up the size of those timeline entries. To me, that’s easier to read.

.text-container > h3 {
  font-size: 28px;
}

Of course, this slightly screws up your last section, but that would be easy to fix.

The other thing I’d say is that you should be careful about messing with the styling of text links. People have grown very used to those colors and effects. When I was checking your page and mentally going through what I could remember of the user stories, it took me a while to find that link. I know designers sometime panic that they will damage their aesthetic, but standards exist for a reason.

Just some suggestions. But all and all, a great job.

1 Like

Thank you for taking the time to look over it and leave a comment.

I made some changes along the lines of what you suggested, and I agree, it’s now a little easier on the eyes. The text links stand out a bit more, too. It still looks like a garbled mess on mobile devices, so I need to look into that.