Trying to get into coding

Hi everyone,
I read through several posts and finally got the courage to create an account and make a post. I’m hoping I can get some feedback/advice on what I’m trying to accomplish but I’ll provide some background first.

I have been trying to get into coding for a few years now but it’s been super difficult. I used to be a computer information systems student in collage but I chickened my way out of it. I did not stray far as I’m currently a director of analytics and a heavy SQL user with some R projects on the sides. I learned HTML/CSS back in high school but it was so basic that I have to brush up on all new html standards. Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of java experience. I know enough to edit procs, view projects, and make solution recommendation but not good enough to be a developer.

I’ve been wanting to a create a few simple apps but I get stressed out and never know how to continue. For example, I would like to get a super simple light weight application, either standalone or web app (I don’t need to connect it to the internet, just need to run it on a local host/machine). The purpose of this app is to track transactions per customers. Customers can add cash/points to their account and use them later. There are only 2 product types. At the end of the day, I want to be able to track how many points they have left based on their usage (basically running total). I currently have an excel file that does this but would like to move away from excel.