TypeError: _this2.state is undefined [React][closed]

Hi everyone,

As I success making only one specific input red into my form, I need now to make it works when an input is added. To be more specific, when one item is added into my question array I need one item to be added into my checkbox array and if I checked the new checkbox, I need the new input to become red.

At the moment, React throw this error when a new input is added:

TypeError: _this2.state.emptyQuestions[idx] is undefined

I think it is because the checkbox array item corresponding to the new input doesn’t exist. I am right ?
Anyways, I would be really glad if someone could help me understand why React throw the error I talk about above.

Here is the link to the Code sandbox with my code : https://codesandbox.io/s/p31y0o75o7

Thanks in advance to have read me until now.:blush:

Hi!
I am not a react developer. But just looked through your error and I found out that there is a concept called “bind” that you can read about and might help you out with resolving your issue.

Thank you for your reply. :blush: Ok, I will check the bind concept and I will see.

Hi everyone,

After a lot of research, I finally found the origin of the problem. It’s this part of my code : newEmptyQuestions[idx].emptyQuestion = !this.state.emptyQuestions[idx].emptyQuestion;

Here is the link to my codesandbox: https://codesandbox.io/s/p31y0o75o7

Do you have any advice or hint to help me make my functionnality works even when a new input is added ? :blush:

Hi everyone,

Finally with the help of my coworker I could resolve my undefined state problem but I have others problems now with my functionnality.:sob:

To make things more clean, I will open an other thread about it when I am ready.

this code may help you. https://codesandbox.io/s/l2xwoy9nwq