typescript:SyntaxError: Unexpected identifier

I’m new to typescript, what I’m trying to do is change the type of the var and apply operation . I dont know the name of this process

let str;

str = "33";

(str as number).toString()

Maybe this is what you want:

Number(str).toString()

Although it has nothing to do with TS, it’s just regular JS

Edit: the error you have in the title of your post, that looks like you’re trying to run Typescript code in a JavaScript environment. That isn’t going to work, because TS type annotations are [purposefully] not valid JS. It doesn’t look like a TS error (which would be prefixed with exactly where in a file the error was triggered + an error code you can look up, eg my-file.ts(2, 23): error TS1128: Declaration or statement expected.

"33" is clearly a string, not a number. TS knows it’s not a number and you can’t force it to pretend it is. If you want a number, use a number, not a completely different type of thing.

If you are saying it’s a number, you actually have to make it a number (cast it to a number type): the TS compiler is not stupid, it knows that "33" is definitely not a number at any point in that program. What @jenovs says is necessary here. Typescript is just a type system: all those types just get thrown away when it compiles, it won’t change your code for you.

You’re also declaring an undefined variable (let str;), and the type of that is unknown. You then assign a string to it. This isn’t an issue, TS will allow this. But if you’re going to initialise an undefined variable, give it a type to narrow it (let str: string;). However, I don’t really see the point of you having it here when you could just do let str = "33"; and TS would infer immediately that it was a string, but anyway

I’m trying to do type assertion but that’s not happening