Uncaught type error: cannot set of innerHTML

JavaScript newbie here. I am having problems with the calculator I am trying to build using JavaScript. I was following a tutorial on youtube
Here is the JavaScript Code.

//Calculator
function calculator(button){
    if( button.type =="operator"){
        data.operation.push(button.symbol);
        data.result.push(button.formula);

}
    else if(button.type =="number"){
        data.operation.push(button.symbol);
        data.result.push(button.formula);

}
    else if(button.type =="key"){
        if(button.name =="clear" ){
            data.operation = [];
            data.result = [];
            updateOutputResult(0);

}

}
    else if(button.name == "delete"){
        data.operation.pop();
        data.result.pop();
    }
    else if(button.type =="calculate"){
        let join_result = data.result.join('');

let result;
        try{
            result = eval(join_result);
        } catch (error){
            if( error instanceof SyntaxError){
                result = "Syntax Error!";
                updateOutputResult(result);
                return;
            }
        }

result = formatResult(result);

updateOutputResult(result);

data.operation = [];
        data.result = [];

data.operation.push(result);
        data.result.push(result);

return;

}
    updateOutputOperation(data.operation.join(''));

}
function updateOutputOperation(operation){
    output_operation_element.innerHTML = operation;
}
function updateOutputResult(result){
    output_result_element.innerHTML = result;
}

Thats the part that shows the error in my console. Will appreciate all the help.

Can you be more specific about what error you are getting and under what conditions?

And if you are doing this in an online IDE, a link to that would be helpful. If not, a linking to a repo (like on github) would be helpful.

I’m a little confused about your code. For example:

}