Understanding <div></div> tags

Hi. so I am going through my CSS flexbox and grid lessons. I am completing all the challenges but really not underrstanding the big picture, if you will. I don’t know how to create the elements that I’m creating a grid for! I think it has something to do with div tags. Like would I just create some boxes and move them around for kicks? I really don’t get it. I have never coded before. I understand that website layouts are organized but after these exercises I wouldn’t know the first thing about how to apply my newfound knowledge.

1 Like

First of all, this is confusing stuff, go easy on yourself. And the “I don’t see how this all fits together” feeling is normal in the beginning. I don’t think things really started to sink in until I started doing the challenges. More accurately, after my first failed attempts at the challenges. And really, there were “things I didn’t understand” that kept going for sometime. Some still do. Don’t worry if there are things that haven’t sunk in yet, just keep learning.

For your specific question, do you have a code sample and an explanation of what it is doing that you don’t want it to do or what it is not doing that you want it to do? The more specific the question is, the better the answer will be.

I don’t deal with it much (as a mobile developer) but one potential gotcha of div is that if is a block level element so it can have some unexpected behavior until you understand them.

1 Like

Kevin,
Thanks for emailing me. I noticed in the forum that I can’t use these<> things…it seems to just erase the whole element! So I’m working on my tribute project. Here is the linkTribute page. I would like to put a nice gray box under the body to separate the pink font from the darkness but I’m not sure how. I believe that I may have learned how but I’m not sure that I learned how to put boxes behind text or make text stand out.
Thanks!