}

function displayCars() {
  document.getElementById("demo").innerHTML =
  cars[0].type + " " + cars[0].year + "<br>" +
  cars[1].type + " " + cars[1].year + "<br>" +
  cars[2].type + " " + cars[2].year;
}
</script>

the above is the Javascript I’m looking at - I am new to this so just trying to understand.

I understand that this will return the make of the cars in alphabetical order using type. I don’t understand why the .toLowerCase is used.

Also the;

if (x < y) {return -1;}
    if (x > y) {return 1;}
    return 0;

part of this code - what is this doing? I understand the if is asking if x is less than why return -1 but can anyone explain in more detail what this code actually means?

Thanks
Mary

@marysharpe97 Hi Mary,
to answer your question, the parameter you are passing to cars.sort() is a comparison function that will define how the cars should be sorted.

You are making a comparison of Strings and when you do so (e.g in the x < y part) you are comparing the strings based on the unicode order of their characters (more info here).
In order to have a real alphabetical order, you need to use the toLowerCase method, in this case, so that you don’t discriminate between capital and lower letters.
Than you do the comparison and return one of the following values:

• a value < 0 means that the car “a” is before the car “b” and so it will be put at an earlier index in the array
  • a value > 0 means that the car “a” is before the car “b” and so it will be put at a later index in the array
  • 0 means the two cars are the same
    For this part, you can take a look at the “Description” paragraph here

I hope it helps.
Happy coding! :slight_smile:

Simone

1 Like

Thank you for this - it’s really useful.

So am I right in thinking that only one of the following can be true;

if (x < y) {return -1;}
if (x > y) {return 1;}
return 0;

And in this case, which of these is true and why?

Sorry I’m struggling to get my head around it

Thanks Mary