Unsuccessful in getting a job

Hello all,

I have been trying for a job from the past 3 months. I don’t know what is wrong with my resume or what mistake I have been doing. I have no professional experience but have done Bachelors and Masters. Have been working on projects on my own to build my resume.
Please have a look at my resume and give me some suggestions.

Link to my Linked In profile

Thank you so much your time.

4 Likes

Hi thank you for the suggestions. I am still working with my portfolio website. I will definitely add more content about me. I have done non-thesis in my masters. I will add my research project.

1 Like

Would it be correct to assume that you’re applying for Web development jobs in the USA?

First, I’d recommend tailoring your resume to fit a specific job instead of leaving it “catch-all”. Or to put it another way, delete the content from your resume that’s not directly applicable to the single job that you’re applying for, so you only have the content that matches the job description (and anything else that you might feel is most applicable).

Basically, make your resume easy to scan by a person, so try to limit what you put on it.

Like the other person said, I’d expect you to have completed something impressive (thesis, project, anything) considering you have an MS degree in computer science, so you should mention that.

And although you did attend college/grad school relatively recently, I think I’d recommend taking out your GPAs. Not to imply that there’s anything wrong with them (pretty good, actually), but explicitly providing your GPA could cost you against other applicants who have higher GPAs. And, if an employer does want to see your GPAs, they can request that later, it’s not something you need to provide upfront.

You might want to consider stating your degrees as “MS” and “BS” respectively, as the acronyms are widely used throughout the US. Spelling them out doesn’t make them as easy & fast to scan.