Using AI/Machine Learning: for Keyword, Hashtag, Key Data extraction and Text Analysis of news articles

Using AI/Machine Learning: for Keyword, Hashtag, Key Data extraction and Text Analysis of news articles

Hey all, I’m just going to throw this out and see if other experienced developers here have done similar kind of work before and could offer me ideas/pointers/solutions.

I’m a freelance/self-employed web developer/designer and one of my clients (a news organization) has asked for help/ideas on how they can more effectively manage their news stories.

I built their existing website including a custom CMS/database solution, the problem they’d like to address is they have multiple news editors on staff who may assign different variations of keywords to a particular news story/subject.

Obviously, they want to avoid/minimize this scenario so they usually have to manually go back to the archive and manually review the exact keywords they’ve assigned to a previous related story – time consuming.

For example, a few weeks ago the big news was the Sutherland Texas church shooting. It’s a news story that has a lot of moving parts… the tragedy itself, then segue to gun control, mental health, church security, background check, etc… A news editor may initially assign it the keyword “Sutherland”, while another may use “Sutherland Texas”, and another may use “Sutherland Baptist Church”. A news article can also have multiple keywords so another keyword can be “background check”, and another editor may assign it the keyword “mental health”.

A popular news story like this can quickly grow and use multiple keywords, and multiple variations of each keyword and you can see how it can become big and wieldy – that’s the problem.