Using React on top of Passport | ensureAuthentication

So, I’m trying to take the program created with the course that demonstrates the passport local strategy, and replace the pug view with react.

I’ve figured out how to use react-router-dom to redirect to the profile page after signing up or logging in… however, this is as far as i’ve gotten. i’ve been stumped for weeks now on how to “ensure authentication” of the profile to successfully display the user’s profile page. how to sign up/login, then successfully run the “ensureAuthentication” function properly to display the user’s information in a separate link, specifically as the user’s individual profile page, if they login successfully, in React, as it does with the pug view engine in the fcc course?

this may be going off way deep into uncharted territory for what is taught in the fcc courses, but i hope somebody can help

1 Like

22 hours now and no reply, bump

First of all I’m not a React dev, I’m an Angular dev, but for stuff like this concepts are basically the same. (both are usually SPA frameworks/libs, or Single Page Application)

So from what you’ve mentioned here are my concerns/comments:
If your using React, you probably don’t need pug at all. React under the average use-case is used for SPA. So all your back-end has to do is serve up the index.html with the “built” React code for all routes it doesn’t know about.
When your developing usually you have your back-end running as normal, and CRA runs its own server and proxies requests to your back-end (see this). This way CRA can provide auto-reloading without affecting your back-end during development.
Pug being a back-end template engine just increases complexity for no reason as React will handle the “UI”.