Variable pull distance programmed with Js

Hello,
I typically program robotics and/or machinery, so I’m very new to Js.
The company I work for has this machine that I need to get up and running.
In order to have it do the math, I need to learn, at least, the basics, of Js.

That’s all well and good, but my problem is this:

I’m pulling parts onto a roll and they need to be evenly spaced.
My understanding is that my pull distance will change by twice the thickness of the parts every time the machine makes a full rotation. We have a sensor that tells the machine when a rotation has been completed.

Does anyone have any advice for learning Js in general and/or any tips for how to code this specific math problem?

Firstly, welcome to the forums.

While we are primarily here to help people with their Free Code Camp progress, we are open to people on other paths, too. Some of what you are asking is pretty trivial in the Free Code Camp context, so you might find that the FCC curriculum will really help you get started. At a modest guess I’d say investing a 4-5 hours working through the curriculum here will really pay off. You can find the curriculum at https://www.freecodecamp.org/learn.

With your current questions, we don’t have enough context to know what you already know or don’t know, so it is impossible to guide you.

It is pretty typical on here for people to share a codepen / repl.it / jsfiddle example of what they have tried so that anyone helping has more of an idea of what help is actually helpful.

Please provide some example of what you’ve tried and I’m sure you’ll get more help.

Happy coding :slight_smile:

Thanks for the warm welcome, and the speedy response.

I’ve gone through a good chunk of the introductory course, and have tested a few simple formulas. (i.e. circumference calculator, etc)
I will continue the course regardless, as I find coding interesting and it can’t hurt to, at least try and, add another tool to my box.