Volunteering as a full stack mentor

Hi

I started applying to jobs in frontend and full stack development like a month before lockdown started. I was about to get an interview for an internship but that closed along with other opportunities as lockdown happened. I recently applied for this company called code your future and they seem really great, their work, vision and guidance for their fellow students new to web development.

I am currently volunteering as a full stack mentor but it’s still in the beginning stages where they are learning the basics.

I have 1.5 years experience in web development. I am an aspiring full stack developer with about 4 good projects so far in my portfolio. I don’t have any certificates. I’m from Cape Town. Most of the time jobs require certificate or degree.

My question is how much value will this volunteering as a coding mentor be on my resume?

Thanks for all valuable feedback. Much appreciated.

1 Like

I think mentoring is great, but I think building more projects, contributing to open source, doing real work (even freelance) would be more valuable. The number one thing they want is people that have a proven track record of building things and solving problems. Mentoring is a side benefit that they like and expect, but as an applicant they will judge your value as a mentor in their organization by how good of a coder you are.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback. And if the job requires a degree or certificate should I still apply?

I think mentoring experience is useful for situations where you end up in a position where you can apply similar skills, for example either as another mentor, or some kind of leadership position. I’d also consider any management/mentorship experience to be just as good as being a “code mentor”.

Leading and mentoring people are skills in-itself, regardless of subject.