Web Dev Conference Tips?

Next week I’ll be attending my first web development conference. I’m really luck in that:

:one: it’s local
:two: my work is paying for me to go (!)

I’ve been to a few e-learning conferences, but I’ve never been to a web development conference before. I’m a little nervous because I’m not a pro developer yet, and I’m worried most or all the info will be lost on me. I’ll be a little outside of my element. Any tips on how to make the most of this opportunity?

Wear skinny jeans and bring several resume to hand out :slight_smile: :slight_smile: JK

Let us know how it goes.

1 Like

I just went to my first tech conference 2 weeks ago, and it was awesome. At this one, there were several different areas with people speaking on a ton of different topics… I chose to concentrate on the development and javascript, but there were people talking about all topics from design to entrepreneurship etc.

I was surprised and excited by how much I could understand, and I learned a ton. On the flip, there were a lot of people around me who didn’t understand, and still learned a ton. So don’t be worried about feeling lost…you’ll either surprise yourself or find yourself amonst others in the same boat. Just dont go in thinking everyone there will be pro and you wont fit in…you will definitely fit in no matter your skill level, I promise you!!!

Other stuff I didnt think about going in…so much SWAG!!! holy cow, Im still floored … I have so many new tshirts and stickers and gadgets and stuff. Another thing, I had a ton of networking opportunities and talked to so many people. No one carried cards or resumes, its all about LInkedIn connections. I follwed up with everyone I added…though Im looking for a job, I did also talk with people I found shared my same interest or also learning to share resources and advice.