WEB DEVS/DESIGNERS - Photoshop/Images

WEB DEVS/DESIGNERS - Photoshop/Images

I am a new web/software developer. I know C#, HTML, and CSS and I am currently learning JavaScript as well. I am currently working on developing my first website and my portfolio. My question is, how can you be a web developer/designer WITHOUT doing a lot of photoshop work? Obviously, making and working with custom graphics that appear on websites is a big part of web development… And I have the skills to do this (I used to when I was much younger), however, my favorite and most strongest area is writing code… I love writing code.

So, say a girl wants me to make her a website for her make-up selling businesses as my first project… How would I go about incorporating images into the page? What if she needs a logo design? Or is that outside the scope of my job as a web developer…

What exactly IS my job as a web developer other than writing HTML, CSS, and programming? What do clients expect out of us? Can I just ask for their color choices and a handful of images and go to town or am I expected to come up with all of that?

In short, with juggling HTML, CSS, C#, and JavaScript… Out of all areas, I’d like PhotoShop work to be on the backburner. Is this realistic or do I need to be a pro photoshopper as well? Thanks.

@P1xt Thanks for that insight! That was amazingly good information! One question I have for you on that topic… What do you prefer your clients to provide to you in an ideal situation? As a developer, do you basically want them to hand you a picture of how all of the pages are to be laid out (a blueprint) and then your job is simply to code that all up?

In your experience, what type of information do clients commonly provide to you when they hire you? Thanks again so much… You are very helpful.