What a Digital Marketer can learn in #100DaysOfCode

After a description of who I am, what I do and why I committed to the challenge I describe key takeaways of what I learned as a digital marketer during my first 100 days of studying programming languages like Python, PHP, JavaScript, jQuery, HTML and CSS. In the last part of the article list my next steps and goals and I thank creators, contributors and community members of the #100DaysOfCode project as well as the FreeCodeCamp.org project, online documentations and inspiring developers.

Throughout the document I provide links for anyone that is interested in following along.

1. Who I am
I am a married 33 year old European citizen that was born in Rostock, raised in Leipzig and grew into adulthood in Rome. I hold a e degree in Economics and Management from the Italian UniversitĂ  degli Studi di Trento and have full working proficiency in English, German and Italian.

I am a digital marketer. I am not a developer. But I want to create things.

2. What I do
As a digital marketer with 8 years experience in Display Advertising, Native Advertising, Search Engine Marketing and Social Media Marketing, I use formulas and macros in Microsoft Excel and Google Sheets on a daily basis. I am no stranger to the use of data feeds and product feeds as well as the the implementation of Dynamic Keyword Insertion, Ad Parameters and Ad Customizers.

A handy query in MySQL or xPath spices up my workday every once in while and I acquired enough knowledge of HTML, CSS, jQuery and JavaScript to publish basic side projects with WordPress like web pages for kitesurf instructors or music schools.

3. Why I committed
Although I am able to promote products ranging from app installs or automobile test drives to SaaS or SUVs across online marketing channels, I am aware of not being able to generate something other than monetary value. Meaning: I lack the ability to create a product from scratch.