What are junior/early career backend jobs like?

Hi all -
tl;dr, I’m trying to figure out if I sound like someone who would enjoy backend jobs or backend-focused full-stack jobs as it seems hard to find descriptions on exactly what they do in their day-to-day work :slight_smile:

I’ve been studying programming for five months now. I’m doing a combination of a self-paced online bootcamp and self-study to prepare myself for a job hunt in the fall.

For some background, I have a BA in Physics, graduated about 3 years ago, and have been trying to figure out what I like ever since. I’ve definitely been bitten by the coding bug.

I’ve found that I definitely enjoy backend - currently learning Ruby on Rails. Frontend is okay, but I don’t seem to enjoy design as much as I’m not a very visually artistic person. I love figuring out what classes/models should exist in a program and how they should interact. I love problem-solving and basic algorithms…I haven’t tried anything too crazy, but I used to help a computer science major friend with the logic side of his algorithms homework. I don’t mind repetition and I like math.

Does it sound like I could be suited to a backend career path? As an extra, which sections of the FCC curriculum should I focus on if this ends up being my goal? (or any other recommendations on what I should study when I’m done with my bootcamp and FCC haha)

The thing about “back-end” jobs is security is more important than the front-end. Even having terrible security practices on the front-end, means little risk, as long as the “back-end” is secure. This is mainly due to the fact the front-end is “insecure” by nature.

Insecurities on the back-end are usually a huge deal, think leaked DB, personal information, hacked, etc etc. Anything serious is probably due to a “backend” security hole. This isn’t to say the front-end is without its own security problems, but the back-end is usually the “main line of defense”.