What are my chances?

Hi all! I joined FCC a few months ago and I am making my way through the certificates. I am wondering what my chances are for landing a job in a few months. I graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering and for the past two years I have been working as a Manufacturing Engineer. With my previous experience and my degree will it be any easier to land a web dev job? Thanks!

With engineering degree your chances to get a job will be extremely high.

As long as you don’t butcher your interviews I would say you will be able to get starting job in no time.

Just make sure to know your level and apply for positions that outline your current experience in the field.

If you can show your knowledge of theoretical concepts you learned from your engineering degree and knowledge of technological stack, you will be able to get a job easily.

Not only you have a degree, it is also relevant one and some of the theory overlaps with Computer Science, so you will have an edge over many other applicants, as long as you dont apply on positions for those who have experience in programming jobs and look for entry positions.

I would also advice you to not look down on junior or intern positions. It is better to get hired on junior position now and get promoted in few months once you prove yourself, compared to searching for higher position and getting one after months and months of wasted time.

I appreciate the insight. I thought so as well, I have heard of people with my degree switching over careers has not been too bad so I was curious if it was the same with CS

It will all come down to your actual ability in the end.
As long as you can actually produce results and apply your knowledge from education, you will have no issues.