What are the advantages a non-CS grad over a CS or IT Grad?

I started coding this August 2018 without any coding background excep basic HTML. I’m in my late 20’s at first I am wondering if it’s too late to shift careers but coding quickly became a hobby I can like.

I really enjoy solving problems in code than dealing with politics in the office. Plus I having the ability to create something I can be proud of is very rewarding.

Anyways, what can be the advantages of a non-CS grad who just picked up coding in finding a job over someone who is a CS graduate, I know for sure I’ll compete with other CS grads looking for work too.

Focus on your soft skills and business skills, which many new grads, and even experienced CS grads can be lacking. Depending on your school and work history, you likely have many skills such as communication, coaching, training, self-awareness, mindfulness, self-starting, etc. that you can focus on in addition to your programming skills. There is something to be said for a person who has graduated, had success in their field, pushed themselves to study programming, and is confident enough to search for a job in a new field. These are all positive attributes that hiring managers consider when making their decision.

In a company point of view, no one cares where you learn your skills, so I would say cs grad or not, there is no significant advantage. If you can land an interview and prove that you are capable a company will be more than willing to hire you. The only thing CS degree helps is getting a higher chance of being interviewed, too many people think that the degree itself is what beneficial, you will be surprised there are top CS grads in my area from top unis and failed the technical test.

It all boils down to how well you do in the proficiency test in a technical test given by the company and how well you do in the interview as well as the things you have built.

1 Like