What license to use for a non profit website?

A non-profit organisation approached me to build a full-stack (including front-end, backend) website for them for free. I agreed to it so I can make a portfolio of relevant projects. But I want the source code to remain open source and publicly accessible on github.

But I think the organisation would want to hold the copyright to the finished website itself.

So what are my options here? Is it even possible that the finished product has a copyright to someone while the source code is open.

Also if we do go the closed source route, how do I make sure I get the due credit? So that I can showcase my work to future employers? Some employers might want to view the source code, how would I share it with them?

Any ideas, campers? I haven’t yet talked to them about any licensing issues. I thought to take your suggestion before talking to them about this.

Thanks.

I’m no expert, but …

But I want the source code to remain open source and publicly accessible on github.

Well, if you’re doing front end work, it’s kind of all “open” isn’t it? There is nothing you can really hide - all the html is readable, as is the css and javascript. So really you’d just have another copy of it on github.

But I think the organisation would want to hold the copyright to the finished website itself.

They can still have a copyright on the material and let you have a copy on github. It think they’re more worried about someone copying their website and using it as a web site. I’d explain to them that git hub is an industry standard and any front end work is easy to copy anyway.

Is it even possible that the finished product has a copyright to someone while the source code is open.

Sure. I can check out a book from the library but it is still copyrighted.

Also if we do go the closed source route, …