What motivates you to help people online?

Hi everyone,

I’m currently doing a thesis about students and communities. I’ve noticed that communities and programming are tightly connected.

So, I wonder what motivates and drives people to help each other in this kind of community.

What motivates you?

Regards,
Nic

1 Like

Hi @dymanic,

With me, I am NOT motivated, it’s kind of unreliable like a battery.

Programming(in my opinion) is like a book of wonder no one knows it all, what information I possess is different from another(camper), but when we come together and share what we know it feels good and when we share we tend to retain the information even longer.

It also feels good knowing that you have helped strangers you don’t know but have similar goals. And being helped by strangers you don’t know feels like a whole big family.

We all use the same road, the only difference we have is the goals.

1 Like

Somebody said me learning programming without internet and communites and lovely people who contributes in the community would be like leaving in a village. It would take your whole life and still you wouldn’t have learn everything. And this is so true about learning anything in computer science you cannot learn everything.
By helping other people in the communites I am helping myself cause somebody like me will help me some time in future, today, now. Who knows when I will stuck somewhere and a quick googling will tell me what I was looking for.

1 Like

I’ve been a part of this community for almost five years. I come here every day because I find it rewarding. I believe in this community I’ve seen it establish itself over the years and watched it change the way that people learn online. Many of the people in our community would historically have hit barriers that they wouldn’t know how to surmount and end their coding journey early on, but here on the forum they are shown that what they’ve hit is a speed bump, rather than a wall.