What should I do to guarantee I have a job by the end of my bootcamp in November?

Hi, so a little background about me. I’ve been learning web dev/software development for 6 years now. I am confident in my Javascript abilities, and alright with HTML/CSS if I’m replicating a design. I’m also comfortable with React and Nodejs. However, I’ve had difficulties finding anyone willing to hire me.

That’s why, back in May, I decided to sign up with a coding bootcamp. I went with the one sponsored by Trilogy, but now I’ve been hearing bad things about it, and honestly, a lot of the stuff they teach is stuff I already knew learning online for free.

Now I’m kind of worried because I’m now $10k in debt, and I don’t know if I’m even going to be guaranteed a job. I’ve been doing well on the projects so far, getting mostly A’s, but what should I be doing to guarantee a job at the end? I already don’t make a lot of money at my current job, and they are really going to be clamping down on me with loan payments at the end of the program.

1 Like

There are no guarantees. There is only the extremely likelihood that if you keep at it, keep doing the right things, that you will eventually get that very difficult to get first job.

I once wrote a doc on my thoughts on getting that first job.

1 Like

Yeah, I mean it’s all out there. There aren’t any secrets that the bootcamp is going to have that are exclusive to them, some JavaScript that only they know.

You go to a bootcamp because you want the structured environment and many bootcamps have connections that help you get jobs - learning on your own doesn’t have that.

I went with the one sponsored by Trilogy, but now I’ve been hearing bad things about it

I would have hoped you would have done your research before buying. But I don’t know anything about them. And in the tech world, no matter what it is, there is someone complaining about it. But I don’t know Trilogy specifically.