What techs to learn for a back end focused position?

Hey guys,

I’m fairly decent in React and Typescript (and Jest, Webpack, etc) but I prefer working in the back end. It feels more rewarding, like solving puzzles instead of fighting to align flex items to look nice.

What technologies would you recommend to learn becauses Express.js, SQL and/or noSQL? Right now I have some experience with Postgres, Mongo/Mongoose, Google Cloud Run and Cloud Functions, and Cloud Firestore. I’m thinking of expanding into Kubernetes, Ansible, Jenkins, and Terraform. I hope to add a monitoring tech in there too based on whatever guides I follow for these other ones.

I have only vague ideas of the value of container orchestration, CI/CD and Inf. as Code but I’m sure learning and practicing those techs will clarify the path further.

If you want to learn the Node backend, then Express, SQL and noSQL are good places to start. The other things you mention are too. It keeps changing. Just keep learning. Everything you learn will be helpful in some way and it’s impossible to predict what the ideal combination is going to be for wherever you end up.

1 Like

Solving puzzles in this context have very little to do with tools and technologies. At the end of the day (if we talk about the web), the only puzzle you need to solve is “how do I make my lighthouse performance at 99%?”. And in most cases it would boil down to the same old data structures and algorithms, rather than picking up correct tool.

SPOILER ALERT: There are by far many more puzzles on the front side of the things.

2 Likes

If you feel bored from that, I suggest you try to go to so called “gateway”, part of the front-end on a very edge between front-end and back-end. Things like PWAs, GraphQL and user specific data handling will definitely bring few rollercoaster moments in your life - this is where all the fun is :wink:

1 Like