When did you start to understand?

Hey! I am a super beginner when it comes to coding. At what point during FCC did you start to feel like you were actually understanding how it all comes together? Not necessarily when you felt confident in your abilities, but when you started to think, “okay, I think I’ve actually got this.” Was it after the initial HTML/HTML5/CSS projects, not until finishing Java cert, etc? Thanks all!

2 Likes

Hey @medic_83!

I am also a beginner (4 months in) and for me certain concepts start to make sense with enough practice. For example, the first few algorithm problems in the javascript section were a little tough for me but that was because I hadn’t developed a good routine for problem solving. Once I figured that out then the algorithm sections were a lot more manageable.

Right now I am in the react portion of the front end certificate and some things are making sense but other things still seem a little fuzzy right now. But I am sure once I start working on the projects things will start to click a little bit better.

I think whenever you are learning something new at first you might not grasp everything at once but that is ok. With enough time and practice then you will be able to understand the concepts a little bit better.

Happy coding!

4 Likes

Thanks for responding! I am only 4 days in. I know that’s not a lot, but I do have quite a bit of time on my hands right now. I am on the project portion of the initial cert and I feel like I am starting to understand more when I put my project and the example project side by side and then type out what they have. It is helping me learn where to begin and better understand what each code does. I then go back and change things to how I want them to look. I’m not certain if this is a good way to go about it or if I truly need to start from scratch on each project in the beginning. How did you start your projects in the beginning?