Where to assigned values come from?

I am brand new to coding and I am having trouble understanding so basic concepts. I am reading Jon Ducketts “javascript and Jquery” book while simultaneosly taking the fCC course. In the book I am given the following example:

var username;
var message;
username = ‘Molly’;
message = ’ See our upcoming range’;

when the book is assigning values, where are the getting that info from? Who is " molly " and why is the message “see our upcoming range”?

When I assign a value to a variable, do I just arbitrarily put whatever I want because it will get updated in later code?

I know this is a stupid question but I’m clearly missing some very basic but important concept in javascript and it seems like every tutorial just assumes I know.

They just chose arbitrary values for demonstration. If I was doing a variable called “favoriteFood”, then I might have:

var favoriteFood;
favoriteFood = "pizza";

Or on another day I might do:

var favoriteFood;
favoriteFood = "lasagna";

or

var favoriteFood;
favoriteFood = "pad thai";

It’s whatever string I choose to store in that variable.

When I assign a value to a variable, do I just arbitrarily put whatever I want because it will get updated in later code?

Well, if you don’t have a value yet, you can give it a default value, if there is one, or you can leave it undefined. You don’t have to initialize it on the next line.

I know this is a stupid question

No, not at all. This is confusing stuff. That’s why it pays well. Keep asking questions - that means you’re thinking about this stuff.

Thanks for your reply.

Would you possibly be able to give a simple , real life situation or something that I would commonly use javascript to do on a website in which I would use that?