Where to begin at?

Tell us what’s happening:

Where do I start the project? I’m really not sure where to go to begin the build.

Your code so far

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 9) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Chrome/87.0.4280.101 Mobile DuckDuckGo/5 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Build a Tribute Page

Link to the challenge:

Hi @parkerjmartin,

You should build it from scratch. You can use something like CodePen or just create it and store it in a git repo on github and serve it using github pages. It’s up to you. Is this your first time building out a project from scratch?

Start with a stripped down, simplified version. Add features incrimentally.

1 Like

Yes. This is my first time building from scratch. Just a little lost on where to begin.

1 Like

Okay, for your first time you may just want to use something like CodePen.

The lesson links to a CodePen project to reference to get a sense of the site functionality. Take a look at that, but don’t copy it. Then I would suggest creating a CodePen account (if you don’t already have one) and start a new Pen. Then just start implementing code to satisfy the user stories listed.

For exampe, the first user story is:
User Story #1: My tribute page should have an element with a corresponding id="main", which contains all other elements.
So go ahead and, in the HTML pane of the Pen, create your element that will contain the other elements on the page and give it the id of main.

Then move on to implementing code to satisfy the second user story, and so on until all user stories are complete and you’re passing all tests.