Where to from here?

Hi everyone,

Just thought I’d pick some your brains as I need some advice,

No long boring stories ,I’ll try to keep it concise =)

I’m 34 years old and have recently spend about 3-4 months of self-taught study on web dev basics (html, css,a bit of bootstrap),my end goal is simple, get in into a FED position as soon as feasible.

I realise I have only scratched the surface here and I have miles to go in terms of reaching the above goal.

1)My question is, with time a very very limited and precious resource, how should I best spend my time learning. I realise the next step is learning vanilla JS, but before I invest heavily
In this I wanted to know. Will it be worth it?..I don’t want to spend 6months – 1 year learning a language only to be told in 2-3 years its superseded.

2)What resources or books do you recommend for a total and absolute newbie to programming, I have tried Codecademy and a few Udemy course but they didn’t work out for me. They always assumed prior knowledge even though they claimed they were “beginner friendly”.
I’m a kind of learner who wants to start slowly at the ground floor and build my way up. I’m not looking for those BS claims to learn a language in 3 hours while sitting on a toilet.

As some of you who are older know we don’t have the luxury of spending 8+ hours a day studying with family and a fulltime job etc,

Thanks in advance and keen to hear any feedback from “old men” like me trying to make it in the dev world.

Cheers

I think it’s a safe bet that HTML, CSS and JS will be around for a very long time.

Can’t say the same with Frameworks and Libraries as they can easily go out of “fad” when something new and shinier comes along. But the good thing is these frameworks and libraries are based on HTML, CSS or JS so if you know the basics, it will be easy to learn new ones.