Where were you at, in terms of progress, after learning web dev for 2 years?

I have been learning web development for 2 years now, and I feel like I have hit a plateau. I am attempting to become a skilled full-stack developer. Although, I still feel at this point that I cannot apply my skills professionally just yet. Maybe in time.

I would say that I am skilled in HTML, CSS, JS (front-end), SCSS, PHP, and SQL. I, however, wouldn’t say I am professional level at all of these yet. I can use the Linux command line too. I am just a VERY slow learner, despite me being unemployed for 1.5 years and dedicating a large chunk of my day learning, sometimes, all day long.

After a while, however, my attention span begins to decrease to where I am not as productive.

I am a humble programmer. I don’t brag or show off my skills with pride, because I know there are many others who are better and more talented than me, and I don’t want to embarrass myself.

Although I would say that I am not satisfied with the progress I made. I can at least say I have not yet given up and I continue to strive.

1 Like

I’m right there with you. After 2 years I didn’t have anything to show for it other than some code snippets on github. It’s only when I got a burst of confidence to try building something small is when I finally started feeling like I wasn’t intimidated coding anymore. This whole thing has taken a huge tole on me mentally and physically.

As for the attention span thing, I definitely have issues with that and I have to just promise myself to focus on this one thing for the next 30 mins and so on then I might end up getting really into what I’m doing for hours. It feels very overwhelming. i like to do things slowly and methodically but also my attention span can be short sometimes especially when i feel overwhelmed.