Which certifications/next steps for a junior QA engineer?

Hi everyone,

I graduated from a programming bootcamp (freeCodeCamp definitely helped me a lot, I got a scholarship for a bootcamp and had to pay only 20% of the fees, so thank you for that :slight_smile: ) and became a junior “software engineer in test” (that’s my job title). Here are my goals:

• I’d like to have in depth knowledge about programming in general
  • Have more knowledge about design patterns
  • Learn about things like multi-threading
  • When to use which data-type in case of dealing with very large volumes
  • How to query data efficiently in SQL

I like fCC’s approach, completing small challenged into getting a certification is exciting, but does it make sense according to my goals? I don’t consider myself a good JS programmer, and the knowledge I have is actually more than enough for what is needed at work.

Currently, I am tempted to finish “Javascript Algorithms And Data Structures Certification” and after that start “Apis And Microservices Certification”. If am correct, that would cover only my first bullet point in this list, do you know how I could tackle the rest?

Thank you for your help

EDIT I gave my advice for a junior dev, not a junior QA engineer, but titles are titles, you asked about “developer” questions, so I assume you plan on becoming a software engineer/ developer down the line :slight_smile:

The first point should be kinda-sorta covered by doing FCC’s Javascript Algorithms and Data structures section, but you probably should checkout external resources, such as MDN for more broad coverage of JS.

There is one “go-to” reference for design patterns. It is old, but the patterns still apply today. The best way to really learn them is to implement them in a programming setting, so its not just “concepts”.

Learn about things like multi-threading