Which language to learn

Hi people…

I am 60. I have been programming for over 35years. Many different languages ( some you wont have heard of ), VB6, Forth, IBM Mainframe, Modula-2, ASP, VB.Net, C#, HTML, Access, VBA, DBase, Javascript, SQL, PHP, MySQL, Mirth etc etc.

I am now having to work fully remotely as I am a carer aswell

I am NOT an expert in any language, probably classed as a jack of all trades…I get asked to look at a problem and I fix it…maybe not in the most elegant way but it works ( some of my websites and desktop applications are still running after 10 years ! )

Anyway , I’d like to learn a another language that keeps me interested for the next 5 years but that will pay the bills.

What do people think of these languages and their industry demand…bear in mind my age as unfortunately in the UK ageism is just a fact of life

ReactJS
Node
Python
Ruby
Typescript

… and an old language ( remember I was brought up on cardreaders )
Cobol

Many thanks

Each platform has it’s own major language knowing which normally results in some sort of a job:

• Web: JavaScript
  • Mobile (Apple): Swift
  • Mobile (Android): Java
  • Gaming/Graphics: C++
  • ML: Python
  • (Server: Go / Rust / Java / PHP / JavaScript)*

*Server as platform is dead and mostly is a part of Web platform

1 Like

Your list there is leaning heavily JavaScript (React, Node, TypeScript), and that’s probably the suggestion that you’re going to get here. We’re mostly developers or students of JS based technology. If part of what you’re looking for is a community to be part of, you couldn’t find a better one than freeCodeCamp, which is MERN stack based.

As you know, the language choice depends on what you want to do. If you’re a mathy sort or love a fast scripting language for automating your life, Python is a lot of fun and also has a bunch of good resources.

Thanks

I have heard about python. Is it linked to other languages, js, Ruby etc or is it something to learn on its own?

Cheers