Why is it so difficult to gain employment in web dev?

I am assuming it is too competitive. When I am competing against 10 or more applicants, I don’t seem to shine above the rest.

Knoxville, TN does not seem to have too many opportunities anyways. When you compete against so many people, it is a losing situation.

I want to add that I have been going at this for 4 years now, and I have yet to land a job.

I am also an active university student. This still has not helped.

2 Likes

Hi @Hjb1694,

I’m going to ask what almost every employer asks: can I see your portfolio?

Let us take a look at it.

FWIW - I’ve been in the industry 13 years, I’ve never been asked to show a portfolio :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Does that mean you don’t have a portfolio?

Things change on a given industry, especially ours, and employers are more diligent in selecting the best.

In my case, I haven’t seen a job post that asks you to know something and expect your words as truth.

Yep, same. I have had people have a cursory look at my GitHub, but that’s just a load of me playing around with things with nothing really polished. I used to have a portfolio site when I was a designer, not touched it since I moved to programming

That said, it is difficult for a first job to judge knowledge, so it’ll help

Lol I thought I was replying to you in the previous.

Then, have your portfolio up and running. Build something.

Have you tried remote work posting? And freelancing…

@germanbobadilla

Here is a website I developed from scratch for a popular dessert venue in my area:

https://www.snocream-knoxville.com

Yep, done both things. Still never been asked for a portfolio.

But you put it in the resume, though, right?

The software developer’s “getting a job” path (some variation of this is used by a majority of tech companies that aren’t too small):

1. Applications*
  2. Recruiter phone call
  3. Hiring manager phone call (sometimes skipped)
  4. First technical phone interview