Word Blanks i need help please, i am a beginner, i`ve been trying on this code for the past one hour, and can`t seem to figure out why it won`t run

Tell us what’s happening:

Your code so far

function wordBlanks(myNoun, myAdjective, myVerb, myAdverb) {
    var result = "";
  // Your code below this line

result = "The " +myNoun+ "ate " +myAdjective+ "and " +myVerb+ "away " +myAdverb;
  // Your code above this line
  return result;
}

// Change the words here to test your function
wordBlanks("dog", "big", "ran", "quickly");

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:65.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/65.0.

Link to the challenge:
https://learn.freecodecamp.org/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/basic-javascript/word-blanks

Be mindful of the spaces in your sentence, for example:

result = "The " +myNoun+ "ate "

Once run will result in:

"The dogate "

since there’s no space between myNoun and "ate ".

Hope it helps :+1:

1 Like

oh thanks a lot for the reply. i have just tried running the code again, this time with all the spaces included, just like you`ve told me yet the program tells me this;

wordBlanks(“dog”, “big”, “ran”, “quickly”) should contain all of the passed in words separated by non-word characters (and any additional words in your madlib)

i do understand what next to do as i have tried basically all i have been told to in the ‘hints’.
:cry:

easy way

just add + ' ' to each of your arguments
eg. myNoun = myNoun + ' '

fancy way

function foo(some, word) {
  // loop though each argument and add a space to the end of it
  Object.keys(arguments).map(i => (arguments[i] = arguments[i] + " "));
  let result = "this " + some + "is " + word + "good";
  return result;
}
foo("cake", "really");

References
Object.keys()
Array.map()
arguments

1 Like

Can you elaborate more on your issue, I don’t quite understand it

1 Like

okay. first all, thanks for the reply