Working for free for a start-up to get a foot into the door?

Hi,

I used to be a freelance web translator (which I still am), but my new objective is to become a full stack web developer, thanks to Free Code Camp of course.

When I was a translator, I used to work for free for NGO’s and such to build up experience, get references, build my network. And all from my computer screen.

I wonder if I could do the same with a Web Developer job for a start-up or a traditional organization. For a limited time of course, and it could be a foot into the door to get a full-time paid job. In the process I acquire experience, which will always be useful.

The only (big problem) is that I already have a full-time IT employee job currently (standard operating hours) and I could only work at nights and week-ends, and probably 1 or 2 hours during the day from my computer office coding.

What do you say are my chances of convincing a company/start-up to hire me (like an intern I guess?) and how to show my talents if I have no operational real-life experience in coding, and only my strong will to learn, evolve and be useful?

What are the risks involved with this approach (and by the way, if you know somebody or a company who could offer me some work right now (non paid) in Web projects, please contact me privately).

Regards,

I suggest ramping up your coding skills on freecodecamp and start contributing to open source projects - many large and small software companies now run on a lot of open source - they also contribute to or customize open source software - significant contributions to high-profile projects won’t go unnoticed by companies

1 Like

There are strict rules for companies regarding hiring interns – the primary benefit should be to the intern, not to the company… or the company may be seen as abusing the intern/employer relationship by getting free labor.