Would my plan work?

Hi all! I’m new to FCC and excited to get started. I have some knowledge in front end development as I’m currently taking another paid course on another website.

I’m currently also doing an embedded engineering course, but it’s requiring a lot of travel and it’s really expensive, and lately I haven’t been able to keep up with the expenses and the exhaustion it’s been causing me. That and the fact that lately I’ve been forcing myself to go because I’m simply not as interested in it as I am in web development.

So I’m considering quitting the embedded engineering course and focusing solely on web development, focusing on FCC for the next few months. My plan is to eventually build a portfolio website and showcase my FCC projects once I’m done with the front end certificate, and to start applying to front end development jobs while still continuing with the rest of the material on this site.

I came to the forum to ask for some advice, but I saw the first few posts were actually about people who got their first web dev job thanks to FCC! I have the passion to get through the material, but I just want to know if my plan would work. Do you guys think I should quit the embedded course and put all my effort in web development and FCC?

Thanks in advance.

Do you really like the engineering course? Is it a college degree or do you have one already? If you really like engineering, or you don’t have a college degree, I think it would still be useful. Also, how much time is left? A year, two years, three? If its shorter and you like it and almost done, I would finish it simply because the degree and soft skills will help you, and just do FCC on the side (you could do the front and back-end sections in a year if you put in about 10-15 hours per week).

1 Like