Would my unstable work history, criminal record, and employment gaps be a deterrent for most employers?

I have held roughly 17 different jobs since adolescence until now. That was a count I determined a long time ago. Now, I can hardly count how many jobs I have had. I am 25.

I have been unemployed for 2 years now on disability.

I used to be an EMT, but my license was pretty much revoked (I had to voluntarily surrender). I am afraid to put any of my past credentials from being an EMT on a resume. I don’t know if it even matters when applying for tech jobs, but I assume listing some unrelated work is better than listing no work at all.

I only worked in EMS for 2 years.

I also have some misdemeanor criminal convictions for stalking and harassment

Yes, those sort of things do tend to concern employers.

@JeremyLT What do I do about this if I want a tech job?

Do you have to tell them unless they ask you? I don’t know about the laws in your country … As far as I know, there are only certain types of jobs in my country where you will be asked to submit a “criminal record certificate”.

I am not especially an expert in this, but I would imagine that you do the same thing as with any job - you need to make yourself look like a consistent, safe hire that will deliver profit for the company. Google will have better advice on the specifics however.

@michaelsndr
I assume most tech jobs don’t look at criminal histories.
But my lack of solid employment experience I worry will hurt me.
I am 25, and I have never really had solid, long-term employment anywhere.

I get that feeling. It’s rough. But we gotta keep thinking about what’s possible. Asking yourselfs: “Where can we be 5, 10 or 20 years from now, if we learn from our mistakes and keep working hard?” Btw. @JeremyLT is right, there seem to be a lot of resources about the topic on the web.