Need help and advice-- Unable to crack the interviews

Hello,

I have read through many inspirational posts on the forum. Recently read the one by @deltasoneca. I would like to thank FCC and @QuincyLarson for the great work that they are doing.

I have been trying to get a job of a Data Analyst for the last 6 months The challenges I face are probably unique but nonetheless I will share. Some of the challenges are as below.

1. I am an international candidate in the US (with student visa) and with a Masters degree from a great university. I did get a lot of calls and interviews in the last 6 months but none seem to work. I have over 7 years of Tech support experience in Physical Security products like CCTV, Alarm Systems. I have worked in different functions including Product Marketing, Tech support, Deployments and enterprise support for large clients. Dealt a lot with IT Deployments too including testing,

2. I am sometimes unable to justify my previous experience in the interviews. Sometimes the company does not want to hire internationals. Sometimes they do not care to respond after giving several rounds of interviews.

3. Sometimes I make some silly mistakes on the white board interviews. They ask a lot of SQL. I do practice a lot but on the D-day the question seems to be something that I cannot solve.

4. I even tried different strategies like applying to Sales engineering, Business Analyst etc. Did get a few interviews but unable to crack the same.

So, the problem here seems multi-fold. One crossing the barrier of hiring a international guy here in the US and second trying to catch up to what is required. I have even been doing free code camp just to keep up to date but never gave a serious attempt to shift to Full Stack developer as I always wanted to do something with Data. That was also the motivation to get a Masters degree.Data Analysts are mostly asked SQL, BI tools, Data Warehousing etc.