New to FCC and coding

I don’t have an IT or coding background. I have been unhappy in my current work for a few years. I’m 37 and have questions for motivation and feedback please.

1-I know it is doable since people in the field tell me they often see self taught older individuals who make the jump. Did anyone here go through this personally or meet someone that can relay something motivational to me?

2-I was also told once I’m able to dedicate 5 hours a week and get by HMTL, CSS, and start JS then I’m “in.” But before that I’m just preparing or exploring, however once I’m make it there I should be happy that this is a path I can take.

Thanks in advance for any feedback or replies you have.

For me, the most important thing that helped me pursue coding is that from the moment you write that first “Hello world!” HTML document and it shows up in your browser, you ARE a web developer. So congratulations! Welcome to the club!

Firstly, you’re 37 which means you still have time to learn how to code and as you mentioned, there have been a LOT of older individuals who have made the switch successfully and ultimately it comes down to knuckling down, putting in the hours and getting addicted to that dopamine release as you watch websites come together before your eyes.

My advice? Learn to code alongside a passion project that you come up with! Maybe you like fishing and you want to make a “dating website” that can connect fishers who want a fishing buddy for the weekend OR maybe your significant other always forgets something when they do the grocery shopping so you can make a “to-do list” with groceries that you can both update and access it from their phone while you’re out shopping.