Advanced Node and Express - Implement the Serialization of a Passport User- OP_MVDM

Hello everyone,

I have recently posted on step 7 of the Section " Advanced Node and Express": How to Use Passport Strategies - and I was stuck due to some DB connection errors / wrong URI…

I have restarted the challenges on a new glitch project and have reached the " Implement the Serialization of a Passport User" step.
I m pretty solid on the code as I used my previous one (which reaches two steps further) but I am still a big newbie and can’t understand my database mistakes.

Here is the error as in the log:

.env: line 1: 7: command not found

12:48 PM

.env: line 2: XXX: No such file or directory

Thu, 06 Feb 2020 11:48:15 GMT express-session deprecated req.secret; provide secret option at server.js:32:3

Database error: MongoParseError: URI malformed, cannot be parsed

Here is my .env file (I adapted the password in the real code) :

SESSION_SECRET= “7”
DATABASE =mongodb+srv://OPMVDM:@cluster0-zlfwm.azure.mongodb.net/test?retryWrites=true&w=majority

The glitch project:

https://great-pig-l5h7zys35.glitch.me

Help!..

Thanks in advance,

OP-MVDM,

Chrome/Brave - Win 8

does adding quotes here help?

DATABASE ="mongodb+srv://OPMVDM:@cluster0-zlfwm.azure.mongodb.net/test?retryWrites=true&w=majority"

Nope…

This is what I wrote:

DATABASE =“mongodb+srv://OPMVDM:@cluster0-zlfwm.azure.mongodb.net/test?retryWrites=true&w=majority”

Logs:

.env: line 2: DATABASE: command not found

3:30 PM

Database error: MongoParseError: URI malformed, cannot be parsed

Anyone can help me here?

Thanks?

I can’t load your Glitch project for some reason. It’s stuck in loading, not sure why :thinking:

here is an example of my .env:

SESSION_SECRET='imaword'