Always wanted to code. But lose focus always

I have done classes in computers before and was doing so through ITT Tech when they got shut down 6 months before I graduated. I have wanted to code for a good long while now. Like 10 years now. But I always lose focus or feel I am just not worth it. I have worked construction and laborer jobs my whole life since I was 12. I do have ADHD at times. Is there anything that anyone could tell me how to focus or a timeline I should set to get it done daily? Does music actually help to stay focused. I love music… I love outdoors and fishing and movies and games. But I am tired of living with my mere 34k a year and want a better life for me and my family. My interests for programming is cybersecurity and machine learning. So any help would be massive. Thank you in advance. I am seriously wanting to make this work this time. I do not want to give up.

@cowboyup993 based on your job experience you should be a hardworking person. This is a huge plus for learning to how to code. However, if you are an outdoorsy person then you definitely find it difficult to sit still in front of the PC.
start with the two minutes rules. This comes from the atomic habits bay James clear. he says that for successfully forming a good habit you need a foundation. Similar to building a good structure. you need to create the base. What he suggests is that starts with as many 2 minutes as you can and have a visual representation of it. like a jar of 50 pins and replace a pin once you finish a 2 minutes coding. Do this until you have no other pin. gradually add to the pins day by day.

Also, the time block technique by Cal Newport is extremely helpful. I highly recommend you at least listen to one episode of his podcast. He also has a great series of books.
https://www.buzzsprout.com/1121972

2 Likes