Basic Javascript - celsius to farenheit "Beginner gettin' brain fried" [Solved]

Hello all. I’m completely stumped by this. I’ve looked at other people’s chat about this issue and it hasn’t helped me.

I’m completely new to coding. This is the first piece of algorithmic code I have ever attempted. The instructions said to disregard the function aspect and the return aspect as we haven’t covered them yet. We should only use the code forms we had just been learning. I have this feeling I should be doing something with the var fahrenheit; aspect but I really can’t see how to include it.

If anyone’s got a tutor vibe going I’d appreciate it.

Below is my best guess
Cheers

function convertToF(celsius) {
var fahrenheit;
// Only change code below this line

celsius*=9;
celsius/=5;
celsius+=32;

// Only change code above this line
return fahrenheit;
}

// Change the inputs below to test your code
convertToF(0);

Just remember some algebra. If they would tell you that the a is like double b minus c, how you would write this? a = 2 * b - c like that, right. Same is here:
fahrenheit = (whatever actions performed with celsius)

in your attempt you are changing celsius variable itself

Hi, welcome to coding :smiley: !

Your conversion is correct, but your function is returning the value of the fahrenheit variable (which is undefined in this case).

There are many ways to go around this one. For one, you can change return fahrenheit; to return celsius;.

You can also add fahrenheit = celsius; after the first comment, then replace every celsius afterwards with fahrenheit.

fahrenheit = celsius;
fahrenheit *= 9;
fahrenheit /= 5;
fahrenheit += 32;

return fahrenheit;

This too is nice (as it resembles the conversion formula, but step-by-step is a good start too!):
fahrenheit = (9 / 5) * celsius + 32;

I just completed this so maybe I can give a hint as to how I figured this out.