Basic JavaScript - Record Collection

My post is less about needing help and more about understanding the expectations of the course, or more specifically, the Record Collection task.

I feel as though I was understanding everything decently up until this point. I was, however, completely stumped with this one. I looked at the hint and eventually the solutions and now fully understand, but I’m wondering…is the expectation such that complete beginners like myself should have understood how to do this Record Collection task by this point with no help, or is it expected that most beginners would need to check the hints to get through it?

Your code so far

// Setup
const recordCollection = {
  2548: {
    albumTitle: 'Slippery When Wet',
    artist: 'Bon Jovi',
    tracks: ['Let It Rock', 'You Give Love a Bad Name']
  },
  2468: {
    albumTitle: '1999',
    artist: 'Prince',
    tracks: ['1999', 'Little Red Corvette']
  },
  1245: {
    artist: 'Robert Palmer',
    tracks: []
  },
  5439: {
    albumTitle: 'ABBA Gold'
  }
};

// Only change code below this line
function updateRecords(records, id, prop, value) {
  if (prop !== "tracks" && value != "") {
    records[id][prop] = value;
  } else if (prop === "tracks" && records[id].hasOwnProperty("tracks") === false) {
    records[id][prop] = [value];
  } else if (prop == "tracks" && value != "") {
    records[id][prop].push(value);
  } else if (value == "") {
    delete records[id][prop];
  }

return records;
}

updateRecords(recordCollection, 5439, 'artist', 'ABBA');

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_15_7) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/108.0.0.0 Safari/537.36

Challenge: Basic JavaScript - Record Collection

Link to the challenge:

It is expected that learners will check hints and ask questions on various challenges.

It is not expected or recommended for learners to look at the answers before solving any challenge.