Basic JavaScript: Recursion problem

Tell us what’s happening:

I understand everything in this post, link at the bottom, except for maybe the most important part.

In this recursion example code block:

function multiply(arr, n) {
    if (n <= 0) {
      return 1;
    } else {
      return multiply(arr, n - 1) * arr[n - 1];
    }
  }

I do not understand multiply(arr, n-1) * arr[n-1];

Can someone please unpack this for me? I hope this is clear enough. I am new to coding. If it is not clear, please ask me, and I will update.

Your code so far

function sum(arr, n) {
// Only change code below this line

// Only change code above this line
}

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/84.0.4147.89 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Replace Loops using Recursion

Link to the challenge:

Let’s say you originally called this function as follows:

multiply([2,3,4], 3)

The first time through, since n > 0, you would hit the else block and thus the original function call would return:

multiply([2,3,4], 2) * 4

The original function call is returning the number 4 (the value at arr[n-1] in which n=3 for the original call) multiplied by the value returned by the function called again but this time with n set to one less than the original call.

So now the recursive second function call [multiply([2,3,4], 2)] is evaluated and it also hits the else block so it returns:

multiply([2,3,4], 1) * 3

So now we can go back to the original function call return value, which as a reminder was:

multiply([2,3,4], 2) * 4

and replace the call to multiply([2,3,4], 2) with the value it returns:

(multiply([2,3,4], 1) * 3) * 4

Note: I added the unnecessary parens just to make it clear what we just added.